Hey, just curious. So force cage says that spells cannot pass through it. A friend mentioned that basically, how it works is, a spell with Line-of-effect cant pass through it, but things that only require Line-of-sight can?Is this correct? So, could a caster in a forcecage use something like Summon Monster while trapped in one to summon a monster outside of it?
Reply With Quote
*

*

*
Re: What can pass through force cage?


There"s no exception to needing line of effect in summon monster; there are a few spells that don"t require line of effect, but that"s not one of them.But as to the basic premise, yes; only spells that don"t require line of effect can be cast out of a forcecage with solid walls. If you use the barred cage version, all spells can pass through it. There are very few spells like this other than teleports, though.Gaze attacks, as far as I understand (I may be wrong about this, but don"t think so) only require line of sight, so they"re one of the few things that goes right through a forcecage/wall of force.

You are watching: Force cage 3.5


-Do you honestly think that we believe ourselves evil? My friend, we seek only good. It"s just that our definitions don"t quite match.-Ailanreanter, Arcanaloth
Reply With Quote
It depends on the type of cage. If it"s the barred variety, you have line of effect. If it"s the walled in version, you are completely blocked off by walls of force. Spells that target you through the bars, or spells aimed outward, have partial cover to deal with. The other version would provide total cover.
There"s no exception to needing line of effect in summon monster; there are a few spells that don"t require line of effect, but that"s not one of them.But as to the basic premise, yes; only spells that don"t require line of effect can be cast out of a forcecage with solid walls. If you use the barred cage version, all spells can pass through it. There are very few spells like this other than teleports, though.Gaze attacks, as far as I understand (I may be wrong about this, but don"t think so) only require line of sight, so they"re one of the few things that goes right through a forcecage/wall of force.
In general, spells that don"t require line of effect don"t "pass through" anything because they don"t have a range for which that sort of question makes sense. Scry and Teleport, for example.
Lord Raziere herd I like Blasphemy, so Urpriest Exalted as a MalefactorMeet My Monstrous Guide to Monsters. Everything you absolutely need to know about Monsters and never thought you needed to ask.

See more: Manchas Rojizas En La Cara, ¿Tienes Manchas Rojas En La Piel


Quick NavigationD&D 3e/3.5e/d20TopSite Areaslondonchinatown.orgDiscussionTechnicalGamingRoleplaying GamesHomebrew DesignComicsThe Order of the StickArts and CraftsPlay-by-Post GamesFinding Players (Recruitment)Message Board Games
You may not post new threadsYou may not post repliesYou may not post attachmentsYou may not edit your posts
Usage of this site, including but not limited to making or editing a post or private message or the creation of an account, constitutes acceptance of the Forum Rules.